SchoolsSecondary SchoolsBlogsAward Programmes

Bucks celebrates its best young scientists of 2018

Tuesday 13th November 2018

Fifty-eight secondary schools students from 22 schools across Buckinghamshire came together last night to celebrate their nomination as a Young Scientist of the Year.

Science Oxford’s Young Scientists of The Year (YSOY) programme is our annual evening of canapés, rapturous applause and inspirational speakers that celebrates some of the county’s best young scientists. It’s about saying a big ‘well done’ to year 13 students from schools across the county who have gone the extra mile in the name of science, whether that’s through amazing exam results, progress made during the their course or in recognition of their enthusiasm and commitment towards their chosen subject. Teachers can nominate up to three of their exceptional students, and the criteria used to select them is left up to each school.

The Bucks YSOY celebration took place at Bucks New University in High Wycombe and was run as a joint event with the Buckinghamshire Learning Trust (BLT), a social enterprise that provides a range of services to schools and settings across the region. The event is also supported by the Faraday Institution and the Institute of Physics.

After a drinks reception and welcome from Shelley Hancock from the BLT, students listened to informative talks from three people who work as STEM professionals; Ian Rowe, a psychology lecturer and psychotherapist; Shane Roadnight, principal lecturer in operating department practice at the university and Fran Long, education and training coordinator at the Faraday Institution.

The students all received a certificate for their achievements.

Karen Bell, manager of our secondary schools outreach programme, said, “It was a fantastic evening and so lovely to meet all the students, supportive teachers and proud parents who attended.”

She added, “This year’s Bucks Young Scientists event was by far our biggest yet, with a 20% increase in the number of students nominated.

Nominations for the 2019 awards will be open in September next year.

Share this News